Virtualization Plugins

View Only
  • 1.  plugin developed not discoverable

Posted 05-19-2020 01:53:00 AM
    I am totally new to delphix and also to delphix plugin.

This is my second plugin . and after i upload it is not discovered by the environment. .

NOTE: My first plugin was a sample plugin from the tutorial . That worked. i followed the same steps but this 2nd plugin is not showing up in the "database" section of the environment.

any idea what i may be doing wrong?

i am suing sdk version 1.0.0 python 2.7.16

another question on sdk.
    Should we be moving to sdk version 2.0.0 anytime soon or ver 1.0.0. is fine.

------------------------------
    Ravi Nistala
    Delphix Community Members

• 2.  RE: plugin developed not discoverable

Posted 05-19-2020 02:22:00 AM
    I had wait around 30 min to view the plugin . Now i can see it.

Ravi Nistala
    Delphix Community Members

• 3.  RE: plugin developed not discoverable
    Best Answer

Posted 05-19-2020 11:40:00 AM
    Hi Ravi,

I don't know for sure what happened, but here are a some ideas...

First, just to be clear: what you see in the "database" section of the environment screen isn't your plugin itself. It's the repositories (and source configs) discovered by your repositories.  There is a section of the UI devoted to plugins though, and you should be able to see your plugins there, even independent of discovery.

There are a handful of situations where a plugin would not have any entries on that "databases" screen. These are all somewhat common when first starting plugin development.

- If nobody has refreshed the environment, then nothing will appear because the plugin's discovery code hasn't run yet.

- If the plugin is (accidentally?) not returning anything from its repository discovery operation, then nothing will appear.

- If the plugin does not allow for user-added source configs, plus also the plugin's source config discovery operation does not return anything, then nothing will appear.