Delphix Products

View Only
  • 1.  Data Masking

Posted 11-03-2022 05:43:00 PM
    Hi Team,

I am very new to Delphix data masking. When masking with Delphix do we have a way to see how the data will be masked (even before running masking). Something like running in simulation mode?

If not, how can we make sure that the algorithm we have chosen/ or what we are going to run will produce the expected result without updating the DB?

------------------------------
    sam sam
    Delphix Community Members

• 2.  RE: Data Masking
    Best Answer

Posted 11-04-2022 05:24:00 AM
    Hi Sam Sam,

Good question!  If with your Delphix deployment you have the complete platform, that is Continuous Data (Virtualization) and Continuous Compliance (Masking) you can leverage a virtual database, mask against the VDB in-place, check desired masking results and if not desired change the algorithm or customise it slightly, rewind the VDB to the pre-masking state and try again.  There is no risk to the production as you are working on the VDB and have the agility to time travel.

You could also think about having a Continuous Compliance engine in a test sandbox just for the purposes of checking new algorithms and behaviour away from your actual primary CCE.

I hope this helps and gives you some ideas.

Best regards,
    Scott

Scott Butler
    Senior Solutions Engineer
    Delphix

• 3.  RE: Data Masking

Posted 11-04-2022 07:53:00 AM
    Thank you for the reply, Scott.

So, I assume someone who does not have Data virtualization will have to restrict masking may be just 1 id and revert it back if the masking does not go as you expect.
    Any other way to handle this?

Also, can you please help me with some videos/articles which I can go through to learn Delphix data masking. Anything like Delphix academy etc.?

sam sam

• 4.  RE: Data Masking

Posted 11-04-2022 09:15:00 AM

Hi Sam,